testtest

MantisX dry fire training Poll

Do you own a MantisX dry fire training system?

• No, never heard of it

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, but I’m interested

Votes: 18 50.0%
  • Yes, but I don’t use it much

Votes: 5 13.9%
  • Yes, I use and find value in the MantisX

Votes: 11 30.6%
  • No, and not interested

Votes: 2 5.6%

• Total voters

OkiePewPew

Staff member
CEAB42C7-8610-4CB5-BC0E-1D4DED694AE0.jpeg

I have found it useful but it is not great at picking up the the sound of a dry fired gun. It works better with real ammo. I have found the SIRT gun and LASR app to be a more useful training aid for me.

I plan to get a Mantis X in the near future to work on trigger control. I eventually aspire to get closer shooting results as compared to those "sharpshooters" @KillerFord1977 and @SimonRL (although I know I'll never achieve their level) :unsure: ;):sneaky:
I have used the Mantis system since I started shooting. It is a great tool because of all the ways you can see the data on how you are shooting. You really see a difference from gun to gun and it will very accurately match what you’re doing at the range. When I use it and then hit the range I feel the difference and I’m really in tune with my technique. I give it 10/10.

I just started playing around with the free version the other day. I already had a cheap red laser cartridge ($20-$40 at amazon), so no new costs for me. I printed out the targets for free. It does pretty well. It uses the QR like markings to determine the target type and calibrate alignment. I like it better than the itarget pro app. It also has a problem on some of my devices since it tries to use the wrong camera, and there is no way to change this in the settings.