testtest

which is better for Medium to Long distance range shooting?

I'm just getting into long distance shooting at the range. Now I know guns but during my Army and Police service of 30 years we never used sights. I've just started a few years ago using red dots on my AR pistols, so it's a learning process.

I already own a Vortex Strike Eagle and an Trijicon 4x32 ACOG, but both sitting on my work bench... which one is the better sight for range distance, usually 200 to 300 but I do want to get into reaching out to 500 to 600 in time.

Guess I should add that it is for an AR platform, I don't have a hunting rifle. Actually, a DD M4v7 Pro w/ 18-inch barrel.

Thanks,

Last edited:
Wish I could tell you but i would start with which of the 2 reticles your eye likes the best. I have 1 or 2 nice medium range scopes but my eye just doesn't work well with the reticle. I do best with some plain old crosshair reticles.

I wobble too much any more for shooting too far, ugh.

On a side note ... I was at the range 2 months ago and had an old fella, I think the range master said he was 92, shooting 300 yards, open sights with an old M1A vintage rifle, free standing and holding the rifle with his elbow against his chest and nailing the bullseye. It was AMAZING!

ACOG should gamge out to 6 or 800 by design, but fixed magnification might not be what you want. 3-9 magnification ought to work. Try both and see which one is better for you? I'm not an ACOG fan not because of brand, but size, weight, fov and non-variable (most aren't, but then there's the VCOG).

I'm just getting into long distance shooting at the range. Now I know guns but during my Army and Police service of 30 years we never used sights. I've just started a few years ago using red dots on my AR pistols, so it's a learning process.