testtest

Why The Most Important Part of Being Armed is Being Armed

Status
Not open for further replies.
I agree with the "have a gun that you are effective with" versus the "latest and greatest".

It's like when I sold motorcycles for a living, I'd always have customers come and say "my buddy says I should get a...". My answer was always "is your buddy paying for it? No? Then try a few bikes, and get the one YOU like best." Because more often than not, the buddy was over 6' tall, and the shopper would be a hair over 5'5"; buddy is athletic, shopper is...not. Things like that.

And 9 times out of 10, the buddy was waaaay off base.

Carry the gun YOU like. Carry the gun YOU are proficient with. Screw everyone else's opinion about it.

I would dissent.

The firearm is just a force multiplier; the real weapon is the mind—the will to use force to defend yourself.

Because if you don’t have that...it doesn’t matter what you’re armed with, or even how much you may be trained. If you don’t have the will to use it, you won’t.

Good Morning Annihilator,

While I appreciated the article, it's symbolic of why I do not read gun magazines to include NRA's publications. BTW, I'm a life member of the NRA.

Rule One of Gun Fighting: The only why to survive a gunfight is to avoid gunfights.

Rule Two of Gun Fighting: If rule one isn't an option, don't get shot.

The cute, vapid banality of, "The best gun to have in a gunfight is the one you have with you," is another reason why I do not read gun magazines. A gunfight means a bad guy wants you reduced to evidence of murder and your corpse autopsied the following morning. I have too many trout yet to catch to risk my life to anything smaller than a 9MM.