testtest

XDE 9mm 4.5 inch review

APPilot

Elite
Founding Member
Folks,

I wanted to give my opinion/review of my new 4.5 inch XDE.

Let me start by saying it’s just my opinion. I am NOT an expert, I just like to shoot, carry, defend my family. So, if I say something you find is not safe, or not ordinary, please let me know. I am still learning and would appreciate any feedback.

With that said here is my opinion/review:
I have been a fan of SA since I started carrying almost 10 years ago after leaving the state of Illinois. My first carry gun was/is the XD 9 subcompact. My second carry was/is the XDS mod 2 9mm. I have wanted an SA/DA carry for a while and have rented the Beretta M9 and the CZ 75. I’ve liked both, but didn’t want to spend the coin on manufacturers I don’t know.

So for my first SA/DA I went with the Springfield. I know there manual of arms, I know there quality and the price was right.

My first impressions were what you would expect from Springfield: QUALITY. Showed up in the plastic carrying case with all the bells and whistles. Came with 2 magazines:eek:ne 8 round mag, and one 9round mag. I ordered a third 9 round from SA and got it in 3 days.

I finally got a chance to get to the range with it and fell in love. It is smooth shooting, accurate and easy to pickup the sight picture. I put 400 rounds of various Ammo through it with no feeding issues at all. Stayed at 7yards for most of the time. And when I went to 15 and 20 yards it was easy to place the shot were I wanted. I was very, very happy.

There are things that are different from my other carry guns that I will have to get used to before it goes into the rotation:

1. The safety is hard for me to find and actuate.