testtest

Shot like crap today

Bassbob

Emissary
I went to the range this morning with my Walther Q5 Match. It has a Vortex Venom on it. I am pretty new to red dots on pistols. This is the only one I have. I put 300 rounds through it before I decided to pack it in. I don't know if I'm spending too much time worrying about the dot flitting around or what, but I could feel myself jerking the trigger and putting way too many rounds high left. To check zero I shot a few from a rest and I was on, but shooting off hand I was shooting even crappier than I normally shoot. I have been going through some allergies and been a little under the weather. I wish I could chalk it up to that, but I think there's more going on than that. When I slowed way down and paid attention mentally to the trigger press I did better.

Anyway, no real reason for posting I just thought I would share my grief with the rest of you.

Off days—Everybody has ‘em. I refer to it as suffering from SLS—Shoot Like S(tink).

Once it starts, it just seems to get worse, because you get in your own head...

I’ll go through periods of it...my fix is to grab a .22 and a brick of ammo, pick a quiet day at the range, and just focus on the fundamentals. Works for me.

A range buddy and I have found that when we take the first shot we know what kind of a day it's going to be.
If the first round goes center target that's the time to quit. Everything after that is going to most
likely be down hill. Save the ammo. Bring the other 49 back another day.