testtest

Was the M1903A4 Sniper Rifle No Good?

No good? Considering the times with rifle & optics tech, and the expedited need for that type of rifle the A4 was as good as things were at the time.

What else was available? Nothing... The M1G version (C& D models) was late and had the same level of rifle & optic performance.

Higher quality sniper rifles didn't show up until Vietnam.

Alot of subjectivity in the article. My .02

Note: All of the 1903A4s were made by Remington.

Last edited:
M1903A4 👎👎 a mass produced A1 basically with less lanez and groves. Only two each to be exact. Come on! This is what the US calls a sniper rifle? That is unacceptable! "Can I have my 03A1 back now please"?

I remember my Grandfather tell us grand kids about the less lanez and groves of the A4 when I just started learning about rifle marksmanship as kid! Grampa fought in WW2.

M1903A4 👎👎 a mass produced A1 basically with less lanez and groves. Only two each to be exact. Come on! This is what the US calls a sniper rifle? That is unacceptable! "Can I have my 03A1 back now please"?

I remember my Grandfather tell us grand kids about the less lanez and groves of the A4 when I just started learning about rifle marksmanship as kid! Grampa fought in WW2.
The A4 was based off the A3, not the pre-WW2 configuration-type A1.

But the USMC did have sniper-versions of the A1 in WW2 and Korea.

And, the 2-groove barrels were found to shoot as well as the 4-groove. And Smith-Corona used some 6-groove barrels in their A3s.

Last edited: