testtest

Dominate the Dark: Low Light Primer for the Armed Citizen

There are two things in this article that really stood out to me, the first was this.

Consider someone walking towards you in a dimly lit parking garage. Your vehicle is off in the corner with no others nearby, yet this person continues to walk in your direction. Do we have a problem here? Perhaps, but we can’t be absolutely certain at this point. If this person continues to move in your direction and makes you feel threatened, putting a little light on the subject and issuing a challenge such as “May I help you with something?” could give you the advantage.

I worked as a security guard at night for several years. There's a reason they call security guards "Flashlight Cops". Whenever I lit somebody up with a flashlight in a "dimly lit parking garage" it started a fight.

I also want to be very sure to point out that I was at work. I couldn't just treat people like crap. I had to be mindful of customer service at all times and I had to be very polite when I approached these people and it still pissed them off to no end. If you bright beam a crackhead who has evil intentions towards you you'd better be ready for the fight

Even though I was authorized to be there and acting as an agent of the property owner I had standing to stop people and ask them "What is your business here?" I have never seen a person react well to being Bright Beamed. I would be very cautious about lighting somebody up unless I was ready for a fight when I did it.

If your car is the only car on that floor of the parking garage and they're coming towards you that's really all the information you need.