testtest

A Day for the Dead

I'm a veteran. Served in Iraq late in the war 09-10 and left there as Operation New Dawn was kicking off. I turned 21 in Iraq in 2009 and had a Near Beer there (non alcoholic beer) for my birthday.

I proudly tell people I'm a veteran and on Memorial day when people see my veteran stickers or hat they thank me. While I understand they are trying to show gratitude I politely thank them and then tell them today is not the day to thank me. I tell them if they want to thank people for their service to go to the graveyards and thank the ones who lost their lives. That today is the day to honor the dead, not the living.

So while you're enjoying your cookouts, family and friends, I have one small thing to ask of all you, veterans, service members and civilians alike: take but a small moment out of today and thank the dead for what they did. Thank then for the hardships they endured. Thank those who never came home and lost everything because today is their day.

HONOR

Remember.JPG

I'm a veteran. Served in Iraq late in the war 09-10 and left there as Operation New Dawn was kicking off. I turned 21 in Iraq in 2009 and had a Near Beer there (non alcoholic beer) for my birthday.

I proudly tell people I'm a veteran and on Memorial day when people see my veteran stickers or hat they thank me. While I understand they are trying to show gratitude I politely thank them and then tell them today is not the day to thank me. I tell them if they want to thank people for their service to go to the graveyards and thank the ones who lost their lives. That today is the day to honor the dead, not the living.

So while you're enjoying your cookouts, family and friends, I have one small thing to ask of all you, veterans, service members and civilians alike: take but a small moment out of today and thank the dead for what they did. Thank then for the hardships they endured. Thank those who never came home and lost everything because today is their day.