testtest

SA Victor .308 low pressure gas block adjustment

Bear007

Custom
My new SA Victor .308 shoots .308 win cartridges absolutely fine. Most shells eject out at 3-4:30 o'clock while some are slightly over pressure ejecting out at 2 o'clock.

THE PROBLEM is I have a pile of ZSR 7.62 that will shoot but has very low pressure ejecting cartridges out at 5-5:30 o'clock, won't lock the bcg open on a single shot and has a few other problems, fte and trys to stuff another in the chamber jamming the 2 together. NOT A BIG DEAL, I know it's low chamber pressure problem with ZSR ammo.

THE QUESTION is whether the adjustable gas block can increase pressure to the bcg using the Mode 3 adjustable screw? Or does the stock Mode 1 screw already divert/send the max possible pressure that can be sent to the bcg?

Does a lighter buffer or buffer spring exist that may work for the lower pressure ammo? Or is this not a direction to go either?

I'm fairly new to the AR world and I've just been reading, learning and having fun as I go. Just curious if there is a fairly easy way to accomplish this since 7.62 ammo is more available. I'm also not assuming all 7.62 ammo is as low pressure as this ZSR ammo either.

Appreciate your thoughts!

I'll bet the gas block is set to an intermediate setting at the factory to provide for propoer function with the ammo they use for testing.

That being said there should be room for adjustment to provide more gas for less powerful ammo.

My .02

I don't have any SA rifles, but did check out their site for info. I found out it has an adjustable gb and a heavy tungsten buffer. The H buffer is probably for adding suppressors. either open up the gb another notch or get a standard weight buffer. I don't know how many adjustments it has. @Talyn has a correct answer!