testtest

Before he developed the atomic bomb, J. Robert Oppenheimer’s early work revolutionized the field of quantum chemistry – and his theory is still used t

I understand the rationale of firebombing and nuking Japanese cities on the mainland to destroy their national will to fight. What I don't understand is why we didn't first nuke military targets like Iwo Jima and Okinawa and Tarawa and Guadalcanal We might have avoided the deaths of thousands of American fighting men but who knows the shortest path to victory?

Thanks for the article! Many of those scientists suffered incredible guilt after the fact and many moved on to promote restrictions on nuclear proliferation. It must have been a wild time to be a scientist during that time.
I am a molecular biologist and couldn’t imagine developing biological agents with the sole purpose of inflicting massive human suffering. There are some that have no problem with it (think 2019).

I understand the rationale of firebombing and nuking Japanese cities on the mainland to destroy their national will to fight. What I don't understand is why we didn't first nuke military targets like Iwo Jima and Okinawa and Tarawa and Guadalcanal We might have avoided the deaths of thousands of American fighting men but who knows the shortest path to victory?
You make a good point, but we did not have enough uranium until 1945 for even the simple "gun" type device used in Little Boy dropped on Hiroshima. The design was initially developed by the British I think but the materials and technology had not come together yet. The Trinity test using an implosion design wasn't tested until July 1945. Not knowing the final outcome of these bombs or even that we were working on them I doubt the political and military leadership would want to wait to go on the offense.