testtest

Loose M1A bipod?

DeploraBill

Operator
I purchased the M1A standard-issue bipod to provide some stability at the range. I securely attached it to the gas cylinder as per the instructions but I didn't realize the rifle would be able to freely move from side to side! I've never used a bipod before. Do all bipods allow their rifles to move all "willy-nilly" like that? I wasn't too pleased with that setup. I may just have to get some sandbags to support the rifle unless someone else makes a bipod that prevents that movement!

I purchased the M1A standard-issue bipod to provide some stability at the range. I securely attached it to the gas cylinder as per the instructions but I didn't realize the rifle would be able to freely move from side to side! I've never used a bipod before. Do all bipods allow their rifles to move all "willy-nilly" like that? I wasn't too pleased with that setup. I may just have to get some sandbags to support the rifle unless someone else makes a bipod that prevents that movement!
Can you provide a picture of your set up and brand?

That bipod was made for the full-auto version of the M-14. Probably one of the worst bipods ever made.

It's too bad SA even sells them & the unaware folks don't realize how much they suck until they have one.

They are made to cant the gun from left to right for uneven terrain. but it still won't move a lot. now the buttstock should not swivel from left to right. there are some that do but if you have the original M1A bipod it shouldn't
That may be what is happening. The rifle cants left and right, which threw me off. I just assumed the rifle would be completely steady and not move or cant at all. Does anyone know of a bipod that attaches to rifle in a different spot? Like on the sling post?