testtest

Sights or optics

I'm new to the game, recently purchased a Saint Victor. Realizing it doesn't come with sights, I am wondering if I should go with flip up sights or optics. Looking for something that would give me the capability for shooting 100-200 yards but also be good for closer range. Any suggestions on make, design?

I am not familiar with the Saint Victor (I know, I am a dinosaur! :) ), but I used to have a hunting rifle with a scope mounted high enough you could use the open sights under the scope if you wanted. The best of both worlds.
An AR is not the same platform as a hunting rifle...it really doesn’t work the same when it comes to sights.

Look into ”Co-Witness”...more applicable to the platform.

I'm new to the game, recently purchased a Saint Victor. Realizing it doesn't come with sights, I am wondering if I should go with flip up sights or optics. Looking for something that would give me the capability for shooting 100-200 yards but also be good for closer range. Any suggestions on make, design?

Why not both?

100-200 yards is plenty close enough for a red dot (2-4 MOA); cowitness a set of flip up backup sights (BUS) and you're set.

Either that, or get a LPVO in a quick release mount, and flip-up BUS.

You need BUIS either way. Get a set of Magpul or Magpul Pros AND an optic. The MBUIS will co-witness with a red dot. For example the Sig Sauer Romeo 5. I have this combination on my AR and so far 2 shotguns.

Another good option which I am looking into is an LPVO or something with magnification to get you out to the 200-300 yard range and something I recently picked up which is the Viridian HS1 hand stop w/ green laser for close quarters.

Didn't think about both. Like I said I'm new to the game. Any particular red dot better than another?
Yes; but it all depends on budget...and when it comes to optics, you get what you pay for.