testtest

Sikorsky H-34 Choctaw: Vietnam War’s Unsung Hero?

The H-34 became seared into my young brain in April 1965, with the Larry Burrows cover story "A Ride on Yankee Papa 13" in Life magazine. Twenty years later I hunted down a copy of that issue in an antique mall, and I still have and cherish it to this day, nearly 40 years later.

Having served as an Army Aviator since 1967, and just after flight school I was ordered to... where else but Vietnam. As a helicopter pilot I was flying UH-1D and UH-1C better known as slick Charlie models having been replaced with Cobra gunships. At the end of my tour I was ordered to 350th Aviation at Fleigerhorst Kasern in West Germany. It was there I was introduced to the Sikorsky CH-34C Choctaw.

It was a great Helicopter with the huge Radial Engine with the two throat updraft carburetor attached to the underside of the engine. This is one of the few helicopters in the Army inventor which has a rotor brake. Of course the rotor brake always leaked hydraulic fluid on left side of the CH-34C on the pilots flight suit when applied. More than a few times I flew the 8th Army competition jump team for practice. They seemed to to always want to fly up to 10,000 feet, and then they would do their jumps. The CH-34C with crew in tow would race the 8th Paratroopers down to the ground so they could do more jumps. One time we were at 10K feet and the 8th Paratroopers were preparing to jump when I spotted through the chin bubble a West German Air Force F-104 pass underneath at approx 5,000 Ft. I still have my -10 operators manual for the CH-34C.

Some way, somehow, I want to get ahold of a H-34 and restore it. It wouldn’t be able to fly but saving a piece of history would make the effort worthwhile. I was a Crew Chief on CH-53A/D’sin the Marine Corps. I also crewed HH-53B/C’s, HH-3E’s, UH-1N/FD and HH-60G’s from 1981 to 2007. Fixing a -34 would be a challenge but it would also be a fun challenge.