testtest

The 4-L Rule: Self-Defense Flashlight Techniques

Talyn

SAINT
Founding Member

Here are some top self-defense flashlight techniques for using a handheld light in conjunction with a pistol.

The 4-L Rule: Self-Defense Flashlight Techniques

Self-Defense-Flashlight-Harries.jpg

I know this topic comes up a lot. All I have to go by is my experience. I work as a security guard for 15 years, mostly at night.

I carried good lights but the only time ever actually needed my flashlight was for utility tasks.

I worked at a FedEx shipping hub for 3 years. The first year FedEx was there so there were trucks parked all along the fence. I used my light to look underneath the trucks.

The only thing close to a "Tactical" application for a flashlight that I ever had was approaching unfamiliar vehicles on client property after dark. That, and pissing off the Hookers turning car tricks outside the fence.

Even the very few times that I had to clear a building I never went into one where there wasn't sufficient ambient light for me to see what I was doing.

I think I've discussed this here before but the only person that I'm aware of who has actually compiled a detailed list of Citizen involved shootings was Tom Givens. The most important statistic that I want to pull out of this is it of his 66 shootings the overwhelming majority occurred during the hours of Darkness. He defined "Darkness" as 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

The Following is quoted from a post that Tom Givens made on Glocktalk several years ago.

"Parking lots in this country are not dark, with rare exceptions. Commercial locations, especially, tend to be very well lighted. I have seen my sights better on a convenience store parking lot at 3:00am than on an overcast day at 3:00pm."