testtest

Which Type of Shotgun Load is Beat for Home Defense

Good article. I say it depends on your specific circumstances. Personally I load HD shotguns with 00B, although a couple of them that afford me the ability to choose loads without reloading are loaded with 00B and 1 oz slugs traveling 1600fps. :)

I have self defense, Low recoil 00 Buck shot loads (8 pellets vs 9), in my Mossgerg 590M Shockwave and Remington Tac14DM. I've read that #4 Buck is a good home defense shotgun load, but I'm far from an expert in these matters.

I have self defense, Low recoil 00 Buck shot loads (8 pellets vs 9), in my Mossgerg 590M Shockwave and Remington Tac14DM. I've read that #4 Buck is a good home defense shotgun load, but I'm far from an expert in these matters.

Lots of people espouse it's virtues. Probably a good choice if you live in an apartment or have concerns about people in the next room.

I have some of the low recoil, flitecontrol or whatever it's called. They're the first 5 rounds in my Mossberg 500 which is currently closest to my bed. You gotta watch putting it in automatics I suppose.

I'm with Talyn; for strictly interior defense (and assuming 12ga), I think #4 buck strikes the right balance between optimal terminal effect in threats and reducing the chance of excessive overpenetration in structure. My second choice is #1 buck, which would be a better choice if the fight is expected to move outdoors, and longer range (out to 50yds or so). Federal's Tactical FliteControl #1 is known for putting almost all pellets on target at that range.

My home-defense shotgun is actually a 20 gauge, so I use a different load than most. Both Remington and Federal offer #3 Buck 20 pellet loads. I have nothing agaist the 12 gauge, but my wife controls a 20 gauge better and feels more confident with it.

The three shotguns we keep in the master bedroom are all loaded with #4 buckshot.