testtest

“Displaying” a firearm

somorris

Professional
Founding Member
I occasionally get e-mails from Andrew Branca, promoting his legal business. I had one today where he is planning to discuss display of a firearm and whether or not that display is an act of deadly force.

I am not a lawyer, but it seems to me displaying a firearm, especially if you are in an open carry state, should in no way be a crime. Even in a state that is not open carry. I have read “statistics” saying that a lot of crimes are stopped by a concealed carrier without ever firing a shot. When the criminal realizes he (or she) has not chosen an easy target, they often retreat. To me, that seems like a solution much preferred over having to shoot someone. Why in the world would any sane person think it was a crime to let a criminal know you are prepared to defend yourself with deadly force if necessary?

I am posting this to see if some of you folks, especially law enforcement and/or legal, can explain this. Makes no sense to me!

There can be a bunch of directions a scenario can take that could justify or not justify so I am suggesting a BASIC scenario. IF it’s a situation where you are legal to use force and are not the initial aggressor showing or pointing in most states should fall into a Reasonable Amount of force.

Why if you carry a firearm you should really carry OC as well. There’s a lot more situations where OC would be needed and justified/easier to explain than a firearm.

But on firearms. Why a lot of places are teaching low ready so you you can truthfully say (and most video footage should show) why no Officer/your Honor I did not point the gun at him I used reasonable deterrence to stop his aggressive actions on my person” or however you want (just don’t say that vague BS “ I was in fear of my life”)

By display I am assuming you are referring to what is generally termed brandishing in some areas regarding firearms.