testtest

“Displaying” a firearm

I think the “perception” of the public is an untrained goof with a gun.
They know security is not the Police, gun and all.
Which can be further from the truth in a lot of cases, but thats perception.
So security gets the snub like you describe
I agree sir. I worked as an armed security officer for many years in the Dallas area(part time and full time). I also had a Bodyguard License(level 4 security) for several years.

It never bothered me that much when people called me "Barney Fife" or made other smart ass comments.

I've been involved martial arts most of my life and when I worked security(before camera phones and such) and somebody tried to get physical I usually had the skills to get them to back off. Most of the time I went hands on with somebody they'd give me space and not chirp as much.

My attitude always was that I didn't care how much you talked but once you violated my personal space and kept violating it after I warned you, we were done talking.

I'm not a fan of open carry because it just creates more problems than it solves in my humble opinion. To each their own. I carry a knife and firearm and if my verbal judo doesn't give me time to escape, then I am prepared to go "hands on" but I always do my best to not let it get to that point. A firearm for me is last resort after trying to talk my out and creating personal space hasn't worked.

I have very heavy hands from all my years of Boxing and Martial Arts(American Kenpo, Escrima, Kuntao-Silat). I have slapped aggressive people's hands off of me and seen their attitude change from being aggressive to not wanting to be near me.

I had a guy reach for my firearm when I was in uniform breaking up a fight at the Taco Cabana on Lower Greenville back in the 1990's. I was using a Safariland holster that had great retention. I hit the aggressive guy with an open hand slap(Pak Sao) on the inside of one his thighs. He backed off and crumpled to the ground and started crying.