testtest

Fools mistakenly shooting innocents will backlash on us

HayesGreener

Hellcat
I have read several stories recently of armed people shooting under mistaken circumstances. The most recent I read was a resident shooting at a delivery person who went to the wrong address. I am all for constitutional carry, but as a long term instructor, I am appalled at the misconceptions or twisted logic many have of when they can use a gun. I wish everyone would get some training on the law, but with constitutional carry that isn't going to happen. As these incidents accumulate, there will be a backlash. The most I can do is ask you knowledgeable folks to encourage new gun owners to get some training. And please emphasize, just because you can does not mean you should.

it's not only what you speak of, regarding the innocents, but when gang members shoot it up as well.

this is what John and Joan Q. Public see, read and hear about, guns, in all sorts of shootings.

also too, the unsurmountable media coverages all across the country.

certainly you as well as many others here my age, maybe older, recall a time when there was only like 3 news networks, and news from around the country only was reported on when there was enough time for the 6 PM news, which meant, hardly any national news.

24/7/365 news organizations, bloggers, tik-tok, twitter, facebook, and other social media as well, all report on shootings.

All these accidental shootings ( at least 2 of which were LEO ) seem to have happened at someone's home. Which has nothing to do with Constitutional Carry.

Doesn't detract from your point, but I felt I needed to point that out.

Here's the thing. Training classes for CCW are not training classes at all. They do usually detail the laws as far as what is and isn't justifiable use of force. I just don't see too many people feeling the need to pay $100 to get the information they could receive from a cursory Google search.