testtest

The 5.7

RandomHero

Custom
Founding Member
So, since the release of the Ruger 5.7 there has been much discussion about purchasing it since it is affordable. However, I heard that you can not carry the 5.7 legally because the round it shoots is classified as rifle round. Anyone have any lawyer friends proficient in firearms law to clarify if this is true or not?

I’m not a lawyer, so my answer is only my opinion, but since there is no prohibition against openly carrying a rifle, though unusual in itself, why could it possibly matter if a handgun were chambered in a ”rifle” round. Moreover, as the 5.7x28 was designed as a Personal Defense Weapon to replace the Nato 9mm, why do you call it a “rifle” round?

I’m not a lawyer, so my answer is only my opinion, but since there is no prohibition against openly carrying a rifle, though unusual in itself, why could it possibly matter if a handgun were chambered in a ”rifle” round. Moreover, as the 5.7x28 was designed as a Personal Defense Weapon to replace the Nato 9mm, why do you call it a “rifle” round?
I personally don't call it a rifle round. I have never had any interest in it in the past due to the FN's price tag and the ammo is super expensive. Then Ruger dropped their 5.7 much more appealing for the wallet. Then a employee at the local gun range said the 5.7 could not legally be carried because the 5.7 round is classified as a rifle round.
Super confused in the info he was giving when it is in a pistol both in FN and Ruger. I started second guessing my knowledge which was very little.

The first 5.7 was/is the P/PS90 is a carbine therefore the 5.7 is a rifle round.

It was designed to replace 9mm chambered submachine guns which are technically rifles.

I wish someone would chamber it in a light bolt action rifle.

Savage did in their Model 25 for a very short time.