testtest

On the Hunt with the Victor .308

I purchased a Victor .308 last fall. I bought it to use as a deer rifle. I installed a Leupold integral system with a Leupold 3 X 9 scope. I sighted it in with Hornaday American Whitetail 165 gr. SP Interlock ammo. For the last 40 years I have hunted with a Remington 742 in 30.06 so I have a lot of experience with carrying a rifle through the woods. As a hunting rifle I found the Victor to be easy to carry and well suited to the bushy, mountainous terrain where I hunt. To date I've fired about 30 rounds through it without a problem. My only concern is my Victor in .308 is noticeably louder than my 30.06. I didn't notice this when sighting it in because I was wearing hearing protection, but when I shot a deer from my stand I was surprised that the Victor's muzzle blast seemed to be much louder than to what I was accustomed. I am currently looking at several flash suppressors that are supposed to direct more of the muzzle blast out in front. I called Springfield's customer service, but was not offered any help or suggestions. I'm satisfied with the Victor's performance and the 16" barrel is fine for my purposes, but would like to find a solution to redirect the noise. Perhaps in the future Springfield could offer Victor uppers with longer barrels for hunters.