testtest

Why are gun store employees obsessed with Smith and Wesson or Glock for handguns?

I confess I'm pretty new to this whole scene, as I'm learning what I can everyday...

I went gun shopping the other day (I didn't have time to rent and try them, so I didn't make a purchase).

I noticed that all of the gun store employees wanted to sell me smith and wesson, or glock, when it came to a handgun. I even had one guy tell me springfield wasn't reliable.
I don't understand... as all of my "gun buddies" love springfield.

Just curious as to everyone's thoughts on this.
Side note: I think I'm discovering firearms are a bit like beekeeping - everyone has their own little preferences.

One assumes that when you go into a gun store that the people working behind the counter are knowledgeable and that is often not the case. I suspect they were directing to Smith and Wesson or Glock because that is what most new gun buyers are asking for. An alarming amount of new gun buyers are woefully unprepared when they go into a gun store for the first time.

So right. Everyone has their fanboys... for what I have seen, everything is going fast at my two local stores, but what they keep getting more of us SW and glocks. I am a novice and don’t know about the manufacturing capabilities but seeing the shipments come in week after week (and you should see SW stock) is impressive.

in the end, hold the firearm, shoot them, and get what feels right to you. Or in my case, get several. I love my springfields but I have a few other brands (shhh)

It’s a journey. Have to date a little while :)

good luck and stay safe.

Guns sales is like any other sales. Employees have focus items. I know several local gun shops that get manufacturer incentives for selling Xxxx number of their units.

whether its cars, boats, boots, clothes or guns, makers will due what they can to have sales “focus” on their product